Tenz Low energy screw
Some see a screw - we see new possibilities
Gerhard Hubmann Gruender Tenz

Reinventing the screw

There are people who have a different view of the world. Gerhard Hubmann, the managing director of TENZ and inventor of the new wood building screw, is one of them. He has been working with screws for wood construction for over 20 years.

From his expertise in all aspects of this everyday product came his drive to reinvent the screw. Two central problems for the application of a screw in wood were particularly close to his heart:

  • Reduce the use of force during application
  • and minimise the energy required.

2011

Tenz Schraube WBS 8x110 Erklaerung

The Idea

Gerhard Hubmann says: "I thought of one of the original forms: a double helix. I simply divided the helix and moved the segments towards each other. Because the special shape means that only one part of the screw ever comes into contact with the surrounding wood, I achieve a significantly reduced friction and thus reduce the amount of force needed to screw it in."

2016

Tenz Holzbauschraube 10 20210316 012730

Production readiness & foundation TENZ

After 3 years of development work in cooperation with the University of Karlsruhe (KIT) and the Technical University of Graz, the TENZ Stairs Thread Technology is ready. The idea became a finished product and is now ready to conquer the world. The focus of the far-thought technology is on the environment and people, and a system from which both benefit.

2017

Staatspreis 1

Austrian State Prize for Engineering Consulting 2017

The State Prize Consulting - Engineering Consulting of the Austrian Ministry of Economics goes to the project "TENZ - The low-energy screw for wood / Die Profi-Holzbauschraube mit der innovativen Stairs Gewindetechnologie".

The jury justified its decision with the successful challenge of "reinventing" such an established technology as the screw: "Ingeniously simple - simply ingenious: the low-energy screw 'Made in Austria' has shown that it is possible to create a world-leading innovation even in a seemingly simple technology, to open up new markets and to make a contribution to the environment and occupational safety in the process," said the State Prize jury., so die Staatspreis-Jury.

2018

kompeTENZ Set Start holzschrauben3 scaled

Sales launch

Sales in Europe start with distribution partners. In Austria, the wood building screw is available via the company's own online shop.

2018

Newsletterbild 550px ink. red dot

Red dot award : packaging design 2018

The sophisticated packaging design of the PEEKBOX was awarded the Red Dot Award: Packaging Design 2018.

The screw head serves as a button to open the presentation box, which arouses the consumer's curiosity. The hinged lid inside allows a first glimpse, as if through a circular keyhole, of the screw's most significant innovation - the TENZ® Stairs. The screw can be turned on its own axis in the special folding box and playfully shows how it works. Developed with the packaging specialist A&R Carton from Graz & the renowned design agency moodley brand identity . 

2019

Tenz Deckmate Screws scaled 1

Hello USA!

In 2019, the world's largest home improvement chain "The Home Depot", based in the USA, decided to equip its own wood screw line "Deckmate" with TENZ® Technology, which is now available in 2,200 home improvement stores in every state in the USA.

2019

Tenz Red Dot 1 ov7xtop5vy8ky8vgteem1jsfj6dzv0qm1hd59vlhso 1024x629 1

Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019

The jury of 40 international experts evaluated all submissions according to the criteria of degree of innovation, functionality, formal quality, durability and ergonomics - and selected the TENZ® wood building screw from around 5,500 participants to award it the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019 with the following justification:

"Environmentally friendly and future-oriented, the innovatively designed TENZ Low-Energy Screw is a consistent implementation of the desire for a resource-saving wood screw."

2019

staatspreis gewinner tenz © H. Tremmel

Tenz brings the State Prize for Marketing 2019 to Styria for the first time

Winning screws! TENZ wins the State Marketing Award 2019 for the innovative concept of its wood building screw. 

"The innovative energy-saving screw has not only convinced us with its well thought-out design, innovative technology and the many product advantages and durability of this screw, but also with its perfect positioning on the market with smart performance for structural timber engineering and the optimisation achieved, which also has an economic impact".was the reason given by the jury.

2020

153703863 3452329824992937 3120149652809388129 o

UK Calling!

The Styrian innovation comes to England. Together with A. Perry, a unique screw programme "TENZ from Perry" has been created for the English market. Together with the original TENZ screws of 6, 8 and 10 mm diameter, the Styrian innovation will also be available in England by the end of 2020.

2020

gewinn tenz nl

31st place in the GEWINN Young Entrepreneurs Competition 2020

The GEWINN Jungunternehmer-Wettbewerb / GEWINN Young Entrepreneurs Competition is Austria's largest competition for founders & start-ups. There were almost 1,000 initial registrations in 2020, despite the difficult conditions, of which the best 100 companies were awarded prizes. An expert jury evaluated all companies according to the criteria originality and quality of the business idea, corporate strategy, customer orientation, environmental compatibility and technical implementation of the concepts.

The gratifying 31st place shows that the TENZ screw is attracting attention alongside top technologies for vaccines, digitalisation or simulations.

Tenz Low energy screw
Manche sehen nur eine Schraube - wir sehen neue Möglichkeiten
Gerhard Hubmann Gruender Tenz

Die Schraube neu Erfunden

Es gibt Menschen, die einen anderen Blick auf die Welt haben. Gerhard Hubmann, der Geschäftsführer von TENZ und Erfinder der neuen Holzbauschraube, ist einer davon. Er beschäftigt sich schon über 20 Jahre mit Schrauben für den Holzbau.

Aus der Expertise zu allen Aspekten dieses alltäglichen Produktes kam sein Antrieb, die Schraube neu zu erfinden. Zwei zentrale Problemstellungen für die Anwendung einer Schraube in Holz lagen ihm besonders am Herzen:

  • In der Anwendung den Krafteinsatz zu reduzieren
  • und den Energieaufwand zu minimieren.

2011

Tenz Schraube WBS 8x110 Erklaerung

Die Idee

Gerhard Hubmann erzählt: „Ich dachte an eine der Urformen: eine Doppelhelix. Ich habe einfach die Helix geteilt und die Segmente zueinander verschoben. Weil durch die spezielle Form immer nur ein Teil der Schraube mit dem umgebenden Holz in Berührung kommt, erziele ich eine deutlich verminderte Reibung und verringere so den Kraftaufwand beim Einschrauben.“

2016

Tenz Holzbauschraube 10 20210316 012730

Produktionsreife & Gründung TENZ

Nach 3-jähriger Entwicklungsarbeit in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Karlsruhe (KIT) und der Technischen Universität Graz, ist die TENZ Stairs Gewindetechnologie fertig. Die Idee wurde zum fertigen Produkt und ist nun bereit, die Welt zu erobern. Im Mittelpunkt der weitgedachten Technologie stehen Umwelt und Mensch und ein System, von dem beide profitieren.

2017

Staatspreis 1

Staatspreis Ingenieur-consulting 2017

Der Staatspreis Consulting – Ingenieurconsulting des österreichischen Wirtschaftsministeriums geht an das Projekt “TENZ – The low-energy screw for wood / Die Profi-Holzbauschraube mit der innovativen Stairs Gewindetechnologie”.

Die Jury begründete ihre Entscheidung mit der gelungenen Herausforderung, eine so etablierte Technologie wie die Schraube neu zu „erfinden”: „Genial einfach – einfach genial: die Niedrigenergieschraube ‚Developed in Austria’ hat gezeigt, dass es möglich ist, selbst in einer scheinbar einfachen Technologie eine weltweit führende Innovation zu schaffen, neue Märkte zu erschließen und dabei auch einen Beitrag zu Umwelt und Arbeitssicherheit zu leisten”, so die Staatspreis-Jury.

2018

kompeTENZ Set Start holzschrauben3 scaled

Verkaufsstart

Mit Vertriebspartnern startet der Verkauf in Europa. In Österreich ist die Holzbauschraube über den eigenen Online-Shop verfügbar.

2018

Newsletterbild 550px ink. red dot

Red dot award : packaging design 2018

Das durchdachte Verpackungsdesign der PEEKBOX wurde mit dem Red Dot Award: Packaging Design 2018 ausgezeichnet.

Der Schraubenkopf dient als Knopf zum Öffnen der Präsentationsbox, was den Verbraucher neugierig macht. Der Klappdeckel im Inneren ermöglicht wie durch ein kreisrundes Schlüsselloch einen ersten Blick auf die bedeutendste Innovation der Schraube – die TENZ® Stairs. Die Schraube kann in der speziellen Faltschachtel um die eigene Achse gedreht werden und zeigt die Funktionsweise spielerisch. Entwickelt mit dem Verpackungsspezialisten A&R Carton aus Graz & der renommierten Designagentur moodley brand identity . 

2019

Tenz Deckmate Screws scaled 1

Hello USA!

2019 entschied sich die weltweit größte Baumarktkette “The Home Depot” mit Sitz in den USA, ihre eigene Holzschrauben-Linie “Deckmate” mit der TENZ®-Technologie auszustatten, die nun in 2.200 Baumärkten in allen Bundesländern der USA erhältlich ist.

2019

Tenz Red Dot 1 ov7xtop5vy8ky8vgteem1jsfj6dzv0qm1hd59vlhso 1024x629 1

Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019

Die Jury aus 40 internationalen Experten bewertete alle Einreichungen nach den Kriterien Innovationsgrad, Funktionalität, formale Qualität, Langlebigkeit und Ergonomie – und wählte die TENZ® Holzbauschraube aus rund 5.500 Teilnehmern aus um sie mit folgender Begründung mit dem Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019 auszuzeichnen:

„Umweltfreundlich und zukunftsorientiert ist die innovativ gestaltete TENZ Low-Energy Screw eine konsequente Umsetzung des Wunsches nach einer ressourcenschonenden Holzschraube.“

2019

staatspreis gewinner tenz © H. Tremmel

Tenz holt den Staatspreis Marketing 2019 erstmals in die Steiermark

Ausgezeichnet schrauben! TENZ gewinnt den Staatspreis Marketing 2019 für das innovative Konzept seiner Holzbauschraube. 

“Die innovative Energiesparschraube hat uns nicht nur durch das durchdachte Design, der innovativen Technologie bzw. mit den vielen Produktvorteilen und Langlebigkeit dieser Schraube überzeugt, sondern auch durch die perfekte Positionierung am Markt mit smarter Performance für den konstruktiven Holzbau und die erreichte Optimierung, welches sich auch wirtschaftlich zu Buche schlägt”, so die Begründung der Jury.

2020

153703863 3452329824992937 3120149652809388129 o

UK Calling!

Die steirische Innovation kommt nach England. Gemeinsam mit A. Perry wurde ein einzigartige Schraubenprogramm “TENZ from Perry” für den englischen Markt geschaffen. Zusammen mit den originalen TENZ-Schrauben von 6, 8 und 10 mm Durchmesser ist die steirische Innovation mit Ende 2020 auch in England verfügbar.

2020

gewinn tenz nl

Platz 31 beim GEWINN Jungunternehmer-Wettbewerb 2020

Der GEWINN Jungunternehmer-Wettbewerb ist Österreichs größter Wettbewerb für Gründer & Start-ups. Es gab 2020 fast trotz der schwierigen Bedingungen an die 1.000 Erstregistrierungen, von denen die besten 100 Unternehmen prämiert wurden. Eine Fachjury bewertete alle Unternehmen nach den Kriterien Originalität und Qualität der Geschäftsidee, Unternehmensstrategie, Kundenorientierung, Umweltverträglichkeit und technische Umsetzung der Konzepte.

Der erfreuliche Platz 31 zeigt, dass die Schraube TENZ Beachtung findet neben Top-Technologien für Impfstoffe, Digitalisierung oder Simulationen.